Sauteed Mushrooms and Quinoa as a Dinner Side

salmon9
So I needed some yummy sides with the teriyaki glazed salmon so I made 2 sides. Quinoa and some sautéed mushrooms. Here’s what you’ll need:

1 package of cut up mushrooms
1 egg
¼ cup of milk
1 tablespoon of sour cream
Parsley
Crushed red peppers
Crushed black pepper
Quinoa

First, follow the instructions for the quinoa. I made 1 cup of uncooked quinoa which made 3 cups cooked. I added in sprinkles or the red pepper, parsley, and black pepper to give it some kick. I suggest adding a little bit more water than the bag says- but I like my quinoa super fluffy so do whatever works for you!
quinoa1
While that’s cooking, throw your mushrooms into a skillet with a little olive oil and cook on medium heat.
quinoa2
mush1
After they start to cook, add in some red pepper and black pepper. After they are cooking for about 5 minutes, mix the milk, egg, and sour cream in a bowl.
mush2
When well mixed, pour over the mushrooms. Add in a little bit more red pepper and some parsley. Mix well and turn the heat up a few notches, I let this cook for about 5-7 minutes.
mush3
The quinoa will be just about done now.
quinoa3
I placed these two with the salmon and it was sucha good combination of flavors! Also, I sprinkled a little bit of parm on the quinoa- yum.

Enjoy!

-Ena

Leave a Reply

