Dark Chocolate Banana Bread

chocban2
Time to play the “I need to get all this food out of my apartment” game! So, I had 2 very sad, very bruised bananas staring at me today. I needed to use them up before they went bad – I hate throwing food away, especially fruit. So, I decided to have some fun and make chocolate banana bread! Here’s what you’ll need:

2 VERY ripe medium sides bananas
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon of vanilla sugar or vanilla extract ( I used sugar)
¾ cup of light brown sugar
¾ stick of butter
½ cup whole wheat flour
½ cup all purpose white flour
1.5 tablespoons of dark chocolate cocoa (you all know I’m a huge loved of Hershey’s)
Cinnamon

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

First, use a fork to mash up the bananas in a big bowl, don’t do this too much- leave lots of lumps.

Then add in the baking powder and egg and keep using the fork to mash.

Next, add the salt, vanilla and sugar and keep mixing until they are all dissolved.

Melt the butter in the microwave and mix until it is almost completely dissolved.

Add in the flours, one half of a cup out at a time, mixing them thoroughly. And sprinkle some cinnamon into the dough- do this to your liking. I like cinnamon so I gave it a good sprinkle!

Finally, add in the dark chocolate cocoa and mix well.

Lightly spray a bread/cake pan and evenly pour the dough into it.

I added some crushed almonds on top.

Bake at 350 for 40 minutes.

Take out and let cool when done. Then cut up and enjoy!
chocban4
Banana anything is always a yes for me so I love this. It’s so delicious for dessert or with some coffee in the morning. Simple and easy recipe AND you most likely have everything that is in this recipe at home already.
chocban5
Enjoy!

-Ena

Leave a Reply

