Whole Chicken Recipe – Crock Pot

whchxcrock6
I’ve never made a whole chicken before so I figured there’s a first time for everything! Lemme tell you, I have about 10 people who will vouch, it turned out pretty darn amazing. It was tender, and well seasoned! I added a few spices and changed how much garlic and lemon the original recipe called for, as well as how long I kept it in the crock. Here’s what you’ll need:

4 tsp salt
2 tsp Paprika
1 tsp Rosemary
2 tsp Onion Powder
1 tsp Thyme
1 tsp pepper
2 to 3 pound chicken
1 chopped yellow onion
4-5 chopped carrots – approximately chopped into thirds
4 chopped celery – approximately chopped into thirds
2 garlic cloves
1 lemon

First, add together all of the seasonings into a bowl and mix them up.
whchxcrock - Copy
Next, cut up the onion, carrots, and celery.

Now, cut the chicken neck off the chicken and removed the bag with the organs – if it’s there.

Peel and smash the garlic cloves.

Rub the chicken with the garlic cloves all over and stick the cloves in the chicken. I put some behind the wings.

Then use your hands and rub the seasonings all over the chicken on all sides.
whchxcrock3
Now, put the veggies in the Crock Pot.
whchxcrock4
Place the chicken on top and squeeze all of the lemon juice all over the chicken and the sides.
whchxcrock5
Put the CrockPot on low for about 5 hours.

When done, put into an oven safe dish, veggies and all, on broil for about 5 minutes.

Let cool for about 5 minutes then cut and serve.

Thank goodness for my good friend, Hana, who knows how to cut a whole chicken. I was entirely worthless during this process. However, with our joint efforts- we enjoyed the chicken! I am content to say it was delicious and amazingly tender. I really enjoyed it and, though handling a whole raw chicken wasn’t my favorite food I’ve ever worked with…the deliciousness of the chicken made it worth it! I absolutely plan on doing this again. And, as I was eating it, I realized how yummy it would be in a chicken noodle soup. NOMS. Goodness that CrockPot is worth every penny.

Enjoy!

-Ena

Leave a Reply

