Banana Base Mini Pancakes

pancake6
Sundays are my days to try new recipes and I’ve been dying for a good pancake one since I LOVE breakfast and brunch. I looked at a bunch but they all made an absurd amount so I sort of finagled a couple recipes to come up with this one. My favorite part of this recipe is that it makes 4 mini pancakes…PERFECT! If you want more, obviously double and triple the recipe but this is really super easy AND you probably have everything in your kitchen already! Here’s what you’ll need:

1 medium sized ripe banana
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of salt
1 teaspoons of vanilla extract (I used vanilla sugar)
1 egg
1 tablespoon of butter (I used the “butter light” from Trader Joe’s and it worked just fine even though it says not to use it in cooking)
1 tablespoon of canola oil
3 tablespoons of milk (I used 1%)
1/3 cup of any type of flour (I used unbleached white but plan on doing whole wheat next time)

First, mash up the banana with the baking powder.

Then add in the salt, vanilla, egg, butter, oil, and milk. Mix it up for a little bit.

Finally, add in the flour. You’ll know how much to add when the dough starts to firm. You want this dough still a bit runny.

Spray some nonstick cooking spray in a pan- any kind will work- and heat it on medium/high for about 3-4 minutes.
pancake1
Then using an ice cream scooper, scoop the dough and place it on the pan. Don’t over crowd. I put all 4 pancakes in
mine and almost messed up their shape.
pancake2
Let them sit on each side for 3-4 minutes then flip and wait 3-4 minutes. And serve!
pancake3
pancake4
These were REALLY delicious! The banana is subtle but just enough to give them some flavor. NOTE: No added sugar!!! I did not want to add any because the maple syrup we put on these bad boys is plenty. I really liked these and they were nice and fluffy. I’m going to try to make a chocolate version of these sometime soon…stay tuned!
pancake5
Enjoy!

-Ena

6 thoughts on “Banana Base Mini Pancakes

Leave a Reply

