Cauliflower Alfredo Sauce

caulialf6

Who doesn’t love Alfredo? Who does hate the calories that come with Alfredo? Ok, so now that we are all in agreement…I have been dying to find a good alternative for Alfredo sauce. I’ve seen so many recipes for cauliflower this and cauliflower that. When I came home this weekend my dad surprised me with a food processor (The Ninja…I just about died of happiness!). So, what a perfect time to make this sauce! I looked through a ton of recipes and kinda picked the parts of each one I liked the best in order to keep it healthy and still get a nice creaminess. Here’s what you’ll need:

2.5 cups of cauliflower flourets
1 can of reduced sodium chicken stock (you can use veggie if you like!)
1 cup of water
2 tablespoons of butter
6-8 cloves of garlic (pending on how much you want)
salt
pepper

Okay! So first cut up your cauliflower.

caulialf

When cut up, put in a pot with the stock and water and bring to a boil. Let this boil for approximately 10 minutes or until nice and tender (aka you can stick a fork through the cauliflower with no problem).

caulialf (2)

Crush up each garlic clove- I honestly took the flat part of a knife and just gave each clove a pound to crush it. In a pan, place the garlic and butter on low and let it all melt together. Mix for about 3 minutes or JUST until the butter melts and the garlic gets a nice coating. You’ll start to smell the garlic deliciousness.

In your blender (or brand new Ninja!!) add in the boiled and tender cauliflower, 1 cup of the broth that is left over from the cauliflower, and the garlic/butter.

caulialf3

caulialf4

caulialf5

Blend until it is very smooth. DONE!

I put it in the same pan that the butter/garlic was in and put on low. I used this sauce to make a risotto which will be posted later. My parents were loving this recipe and I looked up how many calories was in it and it was less than 70 per cup!! Which means the entire recipe was about 210 calories…insane how healthy this is. It is VERY garlicky.. so if you don’t like garlic I would absolutely encourage you to take this out. Next time I make this, I plan on making it with pasta because I think that it would be totally delicious with some whole wheat pasta…or maybe even in a lasagna! Holy delish.

Enjoy!

-Ena

One thought on “Cauliflower Alfredo Sauce

  1. Pingback: Broccoli Risotto with Cauliflower Sauce | wellthatwasgood

Leave a Reply

