Delicious Eggplant Parm

eggplant3
My palate has not always been too refined; I doubt it even is now. I use to hate eggplant after a rough childhood incident- mom told me it was fried chicken…IT. WAS. NOT. Anyway, I’m trying to overcome my childhood trauma by making eggplant parm. I recently tried fried eggplant at a restaurant but it was cut PAPER thin and fried to death…so basically, I like the fried part. But, the healthiness of the eggplant made me want to give it another go. Here’s what you’ll need:

½ an eggplant, sliced about ¼ of an inch
½ cup of your favorite red tomato sauce
1/8 cup of your favorite shredded cheese
1 egg
¼ cup of panko bread crumbs
salt
eggplant1
Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Dry out your eggplant slices by placing them on a paper towel and pat them as dry as you can. I used two pieces of paper towel and squished them together with the eggplant slice n the middle.

Sprinkle both sides with salt.

In a small bowl, beat the egg. In another bowl put in the bread crumbs.

Spray down a cookie sheet with nonstick spray.

Align your counter with the eggplant first, then the egg bowl, then the bread crumbs, then the cookie sheet.(Wine optional 🙂 )
eggplant2
Dip the eggplant in the egg on both sides then in the bread crumbs on both sides. You can do this once or twice, then place on the cookie sheet.

Do this until the slices are done.

Place in the oven for about 15-20 minutes.

While you wait, heat up the tomato sauce on medium heat.

When the eggplant is done, plate and pour sauce on top to your liking. Sprinkle some cheese on top.

I was still hesitant to eat this even after making it…but, I’m happy to report I LIKED IT! I think the trick was cutting the eggplant thin. If it was thicker, I would have been able to taste the bitterness of the eggplant more and it would have been questionable. But it was actually really good. This is a great starter recipe for those of us who are trying to expand our palates. I’m glad I tried this, it’s relatively easy, yummy, and it’s healthy! Whoo hoo!
eggplant4
Enjoy!

-Ena

Leave a Reply

