Southwestern Stuffed Peppers (150 calories a half!)

southwestern stuffed peppers
If you haven’t noticed, I really try to be as healthy as I can and careful with what I add into my food. THIS is one of the healthiest recipes I think I’ve ever made. My family and friends have all asked for it REPEATEDLY and people really do enjoy it. It’s a little more involved than most of the stuff I post, but it’s worth it. Here’s what you’ll need (the list is semi-long):

1 can corn
1 can black beans
2 cups cooked rice (1 cup uncooked- whatever kind you like)
1 pound of lean ground turkey
1 tablespoon of taco sauce (use your favorite)
1 cup of salsa (use your favorite, some people have made this and even done a mango or corn salsa)
½ cup of shredded cheese (as topping, you can use whatever kind you like)
5 peppers (I like to mix up the colors so get whatever is your favorite or a couple of different colored ones)
3 tablespoons of olive oil

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Cut your peppers in halves and clean out. Use your hands to add a little olive oil to the inside and outside of your peppers. Place in a large baking dish (I used a big glass one) and set to the side.

In a large skillet, brown your meat and at the same time cook your rice. While this is cooking, place the peppers into the oven for about 20 minutes or until you see them start to brown a bit. While all of this is cooking, drain and rinse the can of corn and the can of black beans and put into a BIG mixing bowl.

When the meat is done, strain the fat. Then pour the turkey into the large mixing bowl with the over ingredients. Once the rice is done, pour all of it into the mixture as well. Then add in your taco sauce and salsa. Mix all of this VERY VERY well. And taste it, because it’s amazing….

Your peppers should be done at this point, get a salad tongs (or something like tongs) and use them to pour out the excess water and oil from the peppers. I usually just put it in a bowl then pour out later.

Once this is done, you are ready to start stuffing your peppers with your mixture!! Stuff as much or as little as you’d like, I usually just use a spoon. Add a sprinkle of cheese to the tops of your peppers.

Bake for another 15-20 minutes.

There will probably be left over mixture and I usually use that as like a make shift burrito bowl for lunch or dinner the next day. It’s really good even on its own without the peppers!!

Once done, serve with some sour cream or avocado or just eat alone (usually what I do). These halves are A TOTAL of 150 calories!! I usually struggle to even eat 2 because there is so much protein and fiber in them. It’s a surefire crowd pleaser. I usually don’t need 10 halves of this, so you can always cut the recipe in half if you don’t need this huge of a meal. Or, make it and save the mixture for dinner the rest of the week. I’ve also frozen it and taken it out when I needed a ready dinner and it was just as good.

Enjoy!

-Ena

2 thoughts on “Southwestern Stuffed Peppers (150 calories a half!)

Leave a Reply

