Ena’s Original Dark Chocolate, Almond, Banana Pound Cake

pound_doneee
This recipe is my own creation aka, I’m really proud of it! So, I had a relatively stressful day at my externship (for no particular reason, just a mid-week slump), so naturally when I came home I needed to do something with my hands that I enjoy. BAKING! Baking has always been my first love, so I get really excited when I get a chance to do this. This pound cake is versatile, I chose to use almonds and dark chocolate, but you could add berries or other nuts as well. I think I’d like to try it again with pecans and toffee chips or with peanut butter chips. Here’s what you’ll need:

1 cup of flour
1/2 cup of dark chocolate chips- or whatever chocolate you want (for inside the cake)
2 pinches of dark chocolate chips- or whatever chocolate you want(to top the cake with)
¾ cup of light dark sugar (you can use other sugar, but this gives the cake a great color)
A little less than 6 ounces of 0% fat Greek yogurt
1 large slightly bruised banana
1/3 cup of sliced almonds (for inside the cake)
2 Pinches of sliced almonds (to top the cake with)
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 pinch of salt
1 Egg
1/3 cup of melted butter
PoundIng

This recipe will go quickly, so preheat your over to 350 degrees right away.

In a bowl, mix the mashed up banana, Greek yogurt, and melted butter. Once this is mixed, add in the sugar, egg, and vanilla extract. Then sprinkle on top the salt and baking powder.

Finally, slowly add in the flour. Take your time putting in the flour and mixing it slowly. Do not over-mix or add too much flour. Put in just enough flour to have the ingredients start to combine.

Finally, add in the almonds and dark chocolate (or whatever you are going to add in).

Grease and sprinkle flour on a 9×5 baking pan and spoon in the mixture. Flatten the top with a spoon so that the combination is evenly spread. Then, take the chocolate and almonds (or whatever you are using) and sprinkle on top.
pound_pan

Bake at 350 degrees for 45-50 minutes. Turn the pan the opposite way in the oven at 30 minutes. KEEP CHECKING IT! You will be able to smell the goodness when it’s done. If you can stick a knife in the center and it comes out clean, it is done.

pound_donepan
Honestly, I cannot believeeeee how well this turned out being that it is all from my head! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did  Feel free to edit and change whatever and let me know how it turns out!

Enjoy!

-Ena

3 thoughts on “Ena’s Original Dark Chocolate, Almond, Banana Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

