Crockpot Apple Butter <3 Olivia

IMG_1629

Ok, I need to take better pictures of the food I make. But if you have ever had apple butter, you probably know how good it is. My main motivation behind making this recipe is so that I can master apple butter and give it as gifts over the holidays (it looks so pretty in a mason jar with fabric and a ribbon).  For this recipe you will need a crockpot, and if you have a blender (or even better, an immersion blender) you will be able to get your butter very smooth. I do not have a blender so my butter is a little chunky but I think it is just as good that way. I use the apple butter in my PB & J sandwiches and it makes them so much better! This recipe made enough to fill one 24oz jar.

Apple Butter:

– 6 apples (I used granny smith, but any assortment is good)
– 1/2 cup sugar
– 1/2 cup brown sugar (I used light)
– 1 tbs. cinnamon
– 1/4 tsp nutmeg
– Dash ground cloves (if you have)

1. Dice up your apples (if you have a blender you don’t need to worry about getting the chunks small, but since I do not, I cut up my apples into small, 1/4 inch chunks and I left the skin on).
2. Pour the apples, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves straight into the crockpot. Give the ingredients a good stir.
3. Cook the mixture on HIGH for 1-2 hours, stir, and turn to low. (if you want to go to sleep/work you can just start the mixture on LOW right away and add an extra 2 hours, the HIGH step just helps to break down the apples).
4. Continue cooking on LOW for 8-10 hours (a few more won’t hurt).
5. I then crushed up my apples with a spoon right in the crock, as they are now very soft. If you are using a blender you can go ahead and blend your mixture to the consistency of your liking.
6. Pour into glass jars and use on muffins, PB & J, toast, pancakes, etc! Keeps fresh for 3-4 weeks and can also be frozen.

Leave a Reply

