Chocolate Deliciousness with a (Greek Yogurt) twist and a homemade Raspberry Reduction

GYChoc4

My Dad’s birthday was recently and my Mom was making a Bosnian dessert. I decided I wanted to try a new cake recipe so we would have sugar galore! We ended up with chocolate cake with a raspberry reduction, Bosnian crème cake, macaroons, and chocolate croissants…we like food at my house. This cake has a really fun twist to it (drum roll please), I used Greek yogurt! Ok, so here’s what you’ll need:

GYChoc1

Cake ingredients:
1/3 cup dark cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s dark cocoa)
1/3 cup hot water
1-1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup canola oil
1/3 cup of sugar (you can do any sugar you have, I used white but I’ve seen people use brown with the same recipe)
2 eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup or 6 ounces of Greek yogurt (I used Chobani 0% fat)

Raspberry Reduction Ingredients:
¾ cup of any raspberry jam
¾ cup of water
¼ cup of sugar
8-10 raspberries

Set aside about 20 raspberries to use as a decoration 🙂 Fancy!

First, preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Then, get your cake pan and grease it up good. I used my Mom’s amazing pan that unclips on the side and creates a perfect circle. But any cake pan you want to use is good!
Now, in a small bowl, take your hot water (this can just be hot from the sink, no need to boil it) and mix it up with the cocoa really well. Set aside.

Next, if you have a standing mixer use that- it’ll make this SO easy (I used my Mom’s Kitchen Aid… anyone noticing a pattern. Thanks for your kitchen, Mom!!). If you don’t, either use your hands, hand held mixer, or whatever tool you want to use. Mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, eggs, salt, canola oil, sugar, and vanilla. Make sure it’s all nice and mixed up!

Finally, in the mixture, alternate putting in the cocoa mixture with the Greek Yogurt until it is all one delicious concoction.

When it is all mixed up, pour into your greased cake pan and bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes. Watch it…you don’t want it to burn and it is pretty easy to do so.

GYChoc3

NOW! Comes the fun part…when there is about ten minutes left of baking, get a pot. Put the raspberry jam, water, and sugar in the pot. Put the mixture on medium on the stovetop mix it often. Wait until the mixture starts to get hot then add in the fresh raspberries, mix some more. Allow this to simmer for about 5-8 minutes. You’ll smell amazing raspberry goodness when it is ready. Put on low until the cake is ready.

GYRasp1

This is important, when the cake is done (aka you can pull out a toothpick with no residue) and while it is still in the hot pan, pour the raspberry mixture over the cake and allow for it to soak in and cool down. You’ll want to do this slowly and make sure the sides and the middle get a good dose of the reduction.

GYChoc2
Wait to serve the cake until it is totally cooled. I ended up putting a little bit of raspberry jam on top of the cake (and I mean a little) and putting raspberries on top and on the sides. When we served it, we made sure everyone got raspberries because the cake was truly delicious combined with this flavor.

This cake will surprise you! It is not overly sweet and the reduction make it super (gonna hate myself for using this word) moist. Your friends and family will be fascinated by your use of Greek yogurt, all of our friends couldn’t believe it. I liked the cake so much I took a big piece home with me from my parent’s house…and I’m the type to want all sugar out of my apartment because, well, I WILL eat it all. And I did. And it was an awesome treat after an 18 hour day in grad school.

Enjoy!

-Ena

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Deliciousness with a (Greek Yogurt) twist and a homemade Raspberry Reduction

  1. This cake looks wonderful, Ena! Love how you incorporated CHO into it. Also, your family sounds like THE absolute best to celebrate a birthday with.

    Amy @ Chobani

Leave a Reply

