Chicken and Veggie Casserole

photo

I have always wanted to venture into the world of casseroles. This was my first go at it. I used a recipe I found just as the main idea behind it, but like I said before, I’m always altering recipes so you don’t need to go grocery shopping. I just used what I already had in my kitchen. Here’s what you’ll need:

1 pound of shredded chicken
1 can of cream of Campbell’s chicken soup
½ cup of Skim Milk (or whatever milk you have)
1 cup of whatever frozen or raw vegetables you have at home – I put in one cup of broccoli and 1 cup of peas
2 cups of egg noodles cooked
¼ cup of Parmesan cheese (or whatever cheese you have in your fridge)
½ teaspoon of black pepper
½ cup of bread crumbs
2 tablespoons of melted butter

This is really easy to follow. Make the egg noodles, follow directions on the package. Boil and shred the chicken (if you are unsure how to shred chicken, check out the Southwestern Chili recipe. There are step by step directions). In a bowl, mix all of the ingredients, once the noodles are cooked and chicken is shredded, aside from the bread crumbs and butter.  In a casserole dish, or whatever dish you have which is deep enough to hold this amount of food, add the mixture.

Bake the ingredients at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. During this time, mix the butter with the breadcrumbs. When 20 minutes of baking has passed, put the breadcrumbs on top of the casserole and put back into the oven for 5-10 minutes or until the breadcrumbs darken slightly.

Take out and enjoy! I adore this recipe, it’s so versatile and easy to make. Great for dinner when you have no time to go out and buy groceries.

-Ena

Leave a Reply

